Reflection Blog

What is a basket? “An object or vessel form in a textile structure where dynamics of components are all visible”. Hisako Sekijima

For this project I decided to focus on the properties and characteristics of plants in particular grasses. This decision was mainly influenced by a documentary about the Venus flower basket sea sponge on Attenborough’s Ark. I then began to develop my ideas by combining my interests in sustainable design and reusing materials.

DSC09941 DSC09942

DSC09945  DSC09946
DSC09950 In this second experiment I was able to introduce pattern and colour through the process of melting and heating of bin liners and plastic shopping bags, but the overall strength and durability required was not reached.

DSC09951

DSC09952

DSC09953

DSC09957

DSC09964 Plaiting and coiling the bin bags created quite a strong exterior, but I found it difficult to manipulate the structure and had to look into methods of heating and different non-stick tooling.

DSC09961

DSC09962 I liked the way introducing the use of string reflected the making process and how this in turn added an aesthetic that may or may not be interpreted  as decorative.

DSC09967

DSC09973 The final outcome is my interpretation of contemporary basketry and challenges the way baskets are viewed and used. The subtlety of the making process references the play between fragility and  durability.

Leave a comment